La Otra Pilipinas

Posted on January 18, 2009

0


LAKE SEBU PORTRAITS by Jonathan Cena

LAKE SEBU PORTRAITS by Jonathan Cena

Been visiting the website of Jonathan Cena (http://tantrika.multiply.com/) and viewing the visual inspiration of the indiogenius cultures of the Philippines now and the one being made by young people as well preserving and innovating traditions.

How inspiring to see pictures like this, culture like this…

As a Filipino American who immigrated to the United States in my childhood, my understanding of the Philippines has been greatly mediated through the lens of my parents, aunts and uncles.

When I visited in 2000, the first time I went “back home” since leaving in 1984, I was so enlivened to see all kinds of interesting things happening.  Somehow, in my mind, the Philippines felt “dead” — this idea fed by the constant stories of relatives who want to leave, relatives who cannot find work, and all the other hardship stories that I’d hear whenever the Philippines was brought up in my family.

LA OTRA PILIPINAS. The Other Philippines.

Original color.  Original culture.

(And Hare Krishna devotees in Arayat, Pampanga!)

WOW!  HAPPINESS!

Posted in: Uncategorized