Tenured!!!

Posted on February 26, 2009

1


Tenure commonly refers to life tenure in a job and specifically to a senior academic‘s contractual right not to have their position terminated without just cause. (from wikipedia)

.

.

.

Yesterday, I signed by formal evaluation by my  supervisor and received effective evaluations on all California Standards for the Teaching Profession (CSTPs).  Supervisor shared some additional complimentary comments about my work with Terra Nova and my dedication and commmitment to the school.  Little things like that can go quiet a ways in shifting one’s perspective of how things really are — especially during challenging days and/or expanses of time.

Also, he shared how, eventhough the teaching profession is not the best paid profession, there are some positives.  He proceeded to tell me about how teachers have retirement plans that are very solid and even protected by the law. And what other profession allows one to shift every 9 months, meaning if one year isn’t going so well, in 9 months, it changes!?  I never thought about it in that way.  Other things shared, keeping the positive elements of this lifetime career choice in perspective.  I mean, I don’t know if I will be a lifetime teacher, you know, one of those “I’ve taught for 30+ years…” kinda dedicated educators of the school and community.  I hope I can last that long, we’ll see.  Yet, it’s good to know that career pathway is one that I can feel connected to if I so choose.

All in all, I’m happy for the completion of my Probationary Year 2 status, and so from what’s been said, I’m now tenured since my paperwork’s been submitted!  HAPPINESS!  I celebrate now and when I finally am assigned my classes for next year!  And when the projected budget cuts allow all of us teachers to still be in the classroom!  And when things are clarified about Terra Nova!  And when I can settle in my curriculum even more, with less preps!  All these moments of celebration.  Small victories as Ms. Silver, from next door at CPHS said.  A dear woman and neighboring teacher, who I miss.  🙂  Celebrating small victories!

YES YES YES
YES WE CAN
KAYA NATIN!

Posted in: Uncategorized