Affinities & Blessings

Posted on March 14, 2009

0


What is a Blessing?

When an event, a situation, a friend, a “cause” reconnects you to something you use to do in a prior lifetime, something that was good that you can begin again, in this lifetime, to continue and cultivate that part of yourself that you opened up in a former life…

The manner of action and cultivation may change, because times and conditions will create the conditions for how we manifest. But, it will still open up…

(Some notes from a talk by H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche regarding what is a blessing…)

– – – – – – – –

Is this experience I am having a blessing? Encountering the dharma path in this lifetime…yes, it is a blessing indeed. There are moments when I look back and think about how I ever got involved or felt this affinity for the Buddhadharma in the first place. Was it old college buddy Daniel doing to the retreat at UCSD with THAY? And then, Kalyanamitra Auspicious Path the following summer? This Filipino kid, immigrant to San Diego, California, St. Michael’s Church parishi0ner comin’ full circle and turning towards other “teachings” and “affinities” to walk another kind of path. OR MAYBE IT ISN’T ALL THAT DIFFERENT? Was it seeing a little “Zen” comic book thing on Edwina’s desk during our ultra-activist identified college days — and wondering, hmmmm?!?!? And back to the summer when I finally attended the meditation retreat, seeing the Sangha open up the retreat with a song that generated a feeling inside of me that I can still remember to this day, that feeling inside of me that said, “WHAT?!  WOWWWW!”…in a good way.

Yes, it is

it is a blessing

this encounter with the Dharma

in this lifetime…

Dove shared that an old, ancient part of me is arising. It is like an old lost brother. And this part of me rising offers a certainty of Being for me, a feeling of what is real and what is true, returning.

Blood Ancestors

& Spiritual Ancestors

Affinities and Blessings…

REJOICE

REJOICE

REJOICE

The dharma talk that is going on 24 hours a day, infinite in its care and communication, guidance and teaching. Am I listening? Am I contemplating its truth? What am I doing? What am I doing? What am I doing…in this lifetime?  How am I living, breathing, walking, thinking, acting in this lifetime?

. . . . . . .

The dharma is deep and lovely…

We now have a chance to see, study and to praktis it…

We vow to realize its true meaning…

(from the Plum Village Chant Book)


Posted in: Uncategorized