Mindful Consumption While Traveling?

Posted on April 25, 2009

1


In other words, I wanna travel and still save money!

I feel lucky that I can pursue my Suroeste travel plans given the state of the economy and state of things presently.  Some planning a couple of years back with the Countdown Account ( 🙂 is helping to fund this trip.  Causes and Conditions!   Gratitude for the conditions supporting my safe travels abroad this summer.

I found  All Nippon Airways (Japanese airline) with a reasonably priced flight from SD-BANGKOK for the dates that I am planning to be in South+East Asia.

Also, found this blog (http://frugaltravelguy.blogspot.com) which is giving me some friendly pointers for how to use credit card rewards systems to maximize my trip for future benefits.

Checked my credit score on freecreditreport.com (cancel trial membership after 7 days!) and am searching for a credit card that will suit my needs during this summer of bein’ out and about around South+East Asia traveling on planes, trains, buses, etc.

Let me make sure that I don’t return with all this DEBT!!!

NEXT STEP:

BUDGET, BUDGET, BUDGET!

What does this mean?

I don’t really have an idea of how much things will “cost” once I get to Bangkok and the traveling between cities, lodging, etc.  I’m assuming it will not be “that much” but then again, nothing specific that I’m working with.  I think I tend to be a mindful consumer and traveler overall, though budgeting things out to get a general idea will be a good preparatory step for me in my planning.  Once the credit card and ticket’s booked — it’s on!!!

RETREAT!  RETURN!  REJOICE!
RETURN TO MOTHERLAND SOUTHEAST ASIA!
DO NOT FORGET MY SOURCE!

Posted in: Uncategorized