Vajrayogini, Nepal, Deities, Oooohhh!

Posted on January 3, 2010

0


http://thangkapaintings.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/vajrayogini.jpg

During the summer of 2009, I had the fortune to visit Thailand, Cambodia, a bit of Burma and Malaysia.  I stayed in Malaysia specifically to visit Kechara House and all the exciting, dynamic dharma work that I’ve heard about via the internet.  Actually, as part of that plan to visit Southeast Asia, I was hoping that conditions would arise for me to take a flight up to Kathmandu, Nepal as well.  It didn’t happen that time around, but this book above, published by the Kechara organization, spotlights the 2008 pilgrimage of H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche and his students to Nepal and the sacred temples and sites of this country.

What I’d really like to see is how spiritual culture exists in the everyday.  That’s what I saw very clearly being in Thailand, seeing how “Buddhism” just is, intricately integrated into everyday life.  I am imagining, or romanticizing that’ll be the case in Nepal too.  I want to walk around the Boudanath stupa until I get dizzy 😉 and just get lost walking around and observing how everyday spiritual life exists.

May this book help to energize my aspiration to visit Nepal (and ain’t India close by) in the near future!  How about Bhutan?  Tibet?

Chill, chill, stop being greedy!

Posted in: Uncategorized